HS US History Free Live Streamed Field Trip

Screen Shot 2018-02-11 at 6.34.34 PM

Via NCSS and the National WWII Museum

Screen Shot 2018-02-11 at 6.35.16 PM

Furthering its mission to educate younger generations about the important lessons of World War II, the National WWII Museum is once again hosting a live-streamedElectronic Field Trip (EFT) for students across the country Thursday, February 22, 2018.

 

“Fighting for the Right to Fight: African-American Experiences in WWII,” a 50-minute program, will explore how African Americans pursued a double victory during the war, one over the Axis abroad and the other over discrimination at home. Students will discover fascinating stories of struggle, setbacks, triumphs, and heroism of these brave individuals who changed history. Student reporters examine artifacts from the Museum’s signature special exhibit of the same name and travel to Californian to learn about the injustices in a segregated military at the site of the deadliest munitions disaster during the war. Student reporters will also explore the Rosie the Riveter/WWII Home Front National Historical Park to understand the transitions and tensions in American defense factories. Following this interactive cross-country journey, students will come away with a new understanding of how the pursuit for both victory and equality shaped the story of World War II and transformed society.

Hosted by Damon Singleton, Commander, United States Navy (R) and Meteorologist for WDSU-TV Channel 6, the Electronic Field Trip will take place on Thursday February 22, 2018.
There will be two opportunities to watch the EFT on that day:

10:00 am ET/ 9:00 am CT/ 8:00 am MT/ 7:00 am PT/ 6:00 am Alaska/ 5:00 am Hawaii

1:00 pm ET/12:00 pm CT/11:00 am MT/10:00 am PT/10:00 am Alaska/ 9:00 am Hawaii

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s